Home Calendar Council Joining Joining Links Certification TBLS Members Only

Links

GOVERNMENT/UNIVERSITY/BAR ASSOCIATIONS

Cornell Law School's Legal Information Institute - provides up to minute Supreme Court opinions, state law resources, and more.( www.law.cornell.edu)

American College of Trust and Estate Counsel (ATCEC) Site - Contains articles, tax rulings, etc. of interest to estate planning lawyers. (www.actec.org)

The UT Law Library's "Essential sites for Texas Lawyers" - links to primary and secondary sources of interest to Texas lawyers (utcle.org)

Thomas - U.S. Congress on the Internet - legislative information on federal legislation, including full text versions of pending bills. (http://thomas.loc.gov)

IRS Web Site - Official web site of the Internal Revenue Service and a great source of downloadable forms. (www.irs.ustreas.gov)

IRS Written Determinations - PLRs, TAMs,& other IRS rulings for free beginning in 1999. (www.irs.ustreas.gov/prod/news/efoia/determine.html)

National Committee on Planned Giving - Best beginning place to find information on charitable remainder trusts & other charitable giving techniques, including related links. (www.ncpg.org)

The National Association of Elder Law Attorneys Site - information about the organization and mostly informative for members (www.naela.com)

The Harris County Probate Courts Site - information about each Court including staff and docket information (www.co.harris.tx.us/probate)

The Texas Computer and Technology Section of The State Bar of Texas -information source with many links (www.cs.sbot.org)

The Real Estate, Probate and Trust Law Section's Site - materials from Advanced Estate Planning and Probate Course and the Advanced Drafting courses since 1993 in a searchable format (www.reptl.org)

State Bar of Texas Professional Development Program Site - bar sponsored CLE , CLE opportunities on the internet and other links (www.texasbarcle.com)

Texas Bar Association's Board of Legal Specialization (TBLS) Site - TBLS maintains an online Directory of all currently certified attorneys for easy access in additon to up-to-date TBLS events and developments along with standards , rules and regulations.
(www.tbls.org)

Harris County Appraisal District - tax appraisal records (www.hcad.org)

Texas State Comptroller - information including Texas State inheritance Tax forms and appraisal district information (www.window.state.tx.us/)

The State of Texas Web Site - LOTS of information about Texas, Texas government, census, sales tax, maps, etc. (www.state.tx.us/)

Texas Legislature Online - free site contains information that Texas Legislative Service has, statutes, and downloadable Texas Probate Code (www.capitol.state.tx.us/)

Lawyer Advertising - information on ethics rules affecting Texas lawyer's home pages on the Web (www.txethics.org/frames98.htm)

Guardianship Ad Litem Video - (http://www.hba.org/cle/certifications/)

LAWYERS' & OTHERS LEGAL LINKS

The Texas Probate Web Site - Glenn M. Karisch of Barnes & Karisch, P.C. maintains this site - excellent information on Texas probate legislation and spotty coverage of other Texas issues & includes some forms (www.texasprobate.com)

Wills on the Web - attorney Mark Welch's collection of wills of famous people (www.ca-probate.com/will.htm)

Larry Anderson's Legal Directory - interesting and useful will and probate information, including some forms and a great links page (http://home.earthlink.net/~laanderson/aalegal.htm)

Sterling Minor's Memo for Newly Appointed Texas Executors and Administrators - useful information as one attorneys instructions for newly appointed executors/administrators. (www.sterlingminor.com/Docs/exeins.htm) Also available: "Choice of Entity for Asset Protection" (www.sterlingminor.com/Docs/APEntity.pdf)

Courts.net - Information on every Court in the country including Texas and online opinions (www.courts.net)

Estate Planning Links - Site contains hundreds of well-organized, time saving links to Estate Planning, Elder Law, Tax and related websites. Created by Dennis Kennedy in 1995, web site is maintained by Dennis Toman at Booth, Harrington, Hohns & Toman, LLP. in Greensboro, N.C. (www.estateplanninglinks.com)

Noel C. Ice's Web Site - Complete and exhaustive (if not exhausting) presentations on estate planning, trusts, and IRAs. Highly recommended as authoritative source. (www.trustsandestates.net)

Annuity.org - Service to make the process of selling a structured settlement or annuity simple. (www.annuity.org)

EMAIL LISTING FOR ESTATE PLANNERS

The Texas Probate Mailing List (Subscription Information ) - information for Glenn Karisch's Texas Probate email listing (probate@io.com) a list for Texas estate planning, probate and trust lawyers (www.texasprobate.com/main/list.htm)

The ABA-PTL List Archives - information on estate planning and probate law on the internet which links to the most searchable archives (www.mail.abanet.archives/aba-ptl.html)

The GIFT-PL List Archives - mailing list about charitable gift giving techniques and links to searchable archives (www.listserv.iupui.edu/archives/gift-pl.html)

 

SEARCH ENGINES

AroundHouston - www.aroundhouston.com

Ask Jeeves - www.askjeeves.com

Catalog City (catalog links) - www.catalogcity.com

Dogpile - www.dogpile.com

Excite - www.excite.com

Google - www.google.com

Infoseek Ultra - www.ultra.infoseek.com

InterNIC - www.rs.internic.net

JimWorld - www.virtualpromote.com

Learn the Net - www.learnthenet.com

Lycos, The Internet Catalog - www.lycos.com

Metacrawler - www.metacrwaler.com

Prodigy - www.prodigy.com

The List - www.thelist.com

 

LINKS & MORE LINKS

AIRLINES/AIRFARE

Aeromexico www.aeromexico.com

Alaska Air Group www.alaskaair.com

American Airways www.aa.com

British Airways www.britishairways.com

Continental Airlines www.continental.com

Delta Air Lines www.delta-air.com

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines www.klm.com

Lowestfare.com www.lowestfare.com

Lufthansa www.lufthansa.com

Northwest Airlines www.nwa.com

Priceline.com www.priceline.com

Qantas Airways www.qantas.com

SAS www.sas.com

Southwest airlines www.iflyswa.com

Swissair www.swissair.com

TWA www.twa.com

US Air www.usairways.com

 

AUTOS

Alamo Rent A Car www.alamo.com

Avis Rent A Car www.avis.com

Budget Rent A Car www.budgetrentacar.com

Car and Driver Buyer's Guide www.caranddriver.com

Enterprise Rent A Car www.enterprise.com

Hertz Rent A Car www.hetz.com

Kelley Blue Book www.kbb.com

Lowestfare.com www.lowestfare.com

MSN Carpoint www.carpoint.com

National Car Rental www.nationalcar.com

VHR Vehicle History Report www.vehiclehistory.com

 

EDUCATIONAL RESOURCES

Electric Library www.elibrary.com

Ziff Davis Univ. (online Computer Courses) www.zdu.com

 

FINANCIAL

AMDG + Daily Stocks www.dailystocks.com

Ameritrade www.ameritrade.com

E-Trade www.etrade.com

Hoover's Online www.hoovers.com

Morning Star.com www.morningstar.com

 

LODGING

Bass Hotels www.basshotels.com

Best Western International, Inc. www.bestwestern.com

Choice hotels International www.hotelchoice.com

Days Inn of America, Inc. www.daysinn.com

Fairmont Hotels www.fairmont.com

Hilton Hotels Corporation www.hilton.com

Howard Johnson www.hojo.com

Hyatt www.hyatt.com

Leading Hotels of the World www.lhw.com

Marriott International, Inc. www.marriott.com

Omni Hotels www.omnihotels.com

Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide www.preferredhotels.com

Priceline.com www.priceline.com

Radisson www.radisson.com

Ramada Inn www.ramada.com

Sheraton www.sheraton.com

Starwood Hotels & Resorts www.starwoodhotels.com

Summit Hotels & Resorts www.summithotels.com

Westin Hotels www.westin.com

Wyndham Hotels www.wyndham.com

 

LOTTERY

Lotto Texas.com www.lottotexas.com

 

NEWS & WEATHER

Houston Press Online www.houstonpress.com

Houston Chronicle www.chron.com

KHOU-TV-Channel 11 www.khou.com

KPRC-TV-Channel 2 www.kprc.com

KTRK-TV-Channel 13 www.ktrk.com

The Weather Channel www.weather.com

USA Today www.usatoday.com

 

RESOURCES

AnyWho (All AT&T listings) www.anywho.com

BigBook www.bigbook.com

City of Houston www.ci.houston.tx.us

Consumer Reports www.consumer-reports.org

Digital City www.digitalcity.com

Encarta Encyclopedia www.encarta.msn.com

Genealogy Gateway www.gengateway.com

Internet Address Finder www.iaf.net

Library of Congress www.loc.gov

OneLook Dictionaries www.onelook.com

Smithsonian institution Libraries www.sil.si.edu

TaxHelp Online www.taxhelponline.com

US Census Bureau www.census.gov

USGS Earthquake Info http://quake.wr.usgs.gov